Lightning does strike twice

...especially in a bolt

By Donstan Bonn

Usain Bolt create a bit more history when he won the men's 200-metre title at the Olympic Stadium in London on Thursday (August 9).

The lanky Jamaican sprinter became the first man in Olympic history to win consecutive 200m titles when he romped home in a season's best 19.32 seconds, leading a 1-2-3 finish for his country.

He also became the first Olympian to successfully defend both sprint crowns (100m & 200m) after having retained his 100m title five days earlier.

Yohan Blake, silver medallist in the 100m, again had to settle for silver in a time of 19.44, with bronze going to Warren Weir, who stopped the clock in a personal best of 19.84 seconds.

Men's 200m Final - London 2012

1 Usain Bolt (JAM) 19.32

2 Yohan Blake (JAM) 19.44

3 Warren Weir (JAM) 19.84

4 Wallace Spearmon (USA) 19.90

5 Churandy Martina (NED) 20.00

6 Christophe Lemaitre (FRA) 20.19

7 Alex Quinonez (ECU) 20.57

8 Anaso Jobodwana (RSA) 20.69

People Meter Question

Are you satisfied with the choice for the next UWI Chancellor?

  • Yes
  • No